Iced Coffee at the Farmer’s Market

I recently visited a farmer’s market in the town of Belmont, California and came across a booth selling iced coffee.   Not just iced coffee, but “infusions”.    Normally I’m not a fan of “flavored” coffee, because  I am a bit of a purist and want to taste the coffee itself, without covering it up with syrups or other flavorings.

I was open to trying this, because it was an infusion pairing the flavor notes of the coffee with fruits, herbs and spice combinations.   I asked the team selling the bottled iced coffee who the roaster is, and they are apparently using Ecco Coffee which I had heard of before.

The flavor “infusions” on offer that day were  “Fresh Banana” , “Jasmine Pearl”, and “Lemon Cookie”.   I liked the jasmine pearl, and the banana.   The banana infusion comes with a little vial of chocolate milk, that is meant to be mixed with the banana coffee.

Mixte Fresh Banana with chocolate milk

It’s an interesting concept.   I wish I could have been at their L.A. tasting event where they had the following “infusion” flavors:

  • Chili Cinnamon Chocolate
  • Jasmine
  • Banana
  • Honey Ginger
  • Lemon
  • Brown Sugar and Cinnamon
  • Orange Basil

Of all of the pairings, I think the Brown Sugar and Cinnamon and Chili Cinnamon Chocolate sound interesting.   I would suggest they do an infusion with Cardamom next, and maybe a Mint Iced Coffee.   Another question I had, is if the coffee has been cold brewed.

To learn more about Mixte, go to their site at : http://mixtecoffee.com

About superagent69

wine enthusiast, epicurean, gastronomy
This entry was posted in Coffee. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

